International Innovation Management

Master Programme (full-time or part-time) starting WS 2022/23

"International Innovation Management" (INNO) is an English-language Master´s degree programme at Stralsund University of Applied Sciences. It is aimed at Bachelor's graduates who wish to initiate, implement and evaluate innovations in the product, service and process areas of international organisations.

The content covers the basics of innovation management and current topics such as consumer insights & communication, digital innovation, data science & Artificial Intelligience for business innovation and sustainable innovation. The lectures and seminars are complemented by practical innovation field trips.

Block teaching in Berlin and Stralsund as well as a high online content allow for the degree to be completed in three or four semesters (depending on previous qualifications) and means completing the degree programme is also possible while working. 

The planning, implementation and further development of the study programme is carried out in cooperation with the Institute for Futures Studies and Technology Assessment, Berlin, an internationally recognised futurology think tank.

The programme will start in the winter semester 2022/23 (September 2022). Applications are possible from April 2022.

Fact Sheet

Overview

Programme International Innovation Management (INNO)
School School of Business Studies
Start in Winter semester
Admission currently unrestricted entry
Length of study 3 or 4 semesters (depends on undergraduate degree)
Credit points 90 - 120 ECTS
Degree Master of Arts (M.A.)
Language of instruction English (100 %)

Admission requirements

Even if you have not received your final degree certificate by the application deadline, you can still apply for a master’s programme with your current transcript of records. This should include the amount of ECTS points that you have already gained by the time of application, the preliminary final mark and the expected date of completion.

General mandatory requirements for admission to the 3-semester or 4-semester Master's programme:

  1. Proof of a first professional degree in management, economics, industrial engineering, business informatics or a generally closely related degree programme with an average grade of at least 2.3
  2. and, within the course of the first professional qualification, proof of knowledge in the following fields to the following extent (e.g. through official module descriptions of the higher education institution):
  • Management - at least 20 ECTS with an average grade of at least 2.3
  • Mathematics/Statistics - at least 10 ECTS with an average grade of at least 2.7
  • Business Computing/Informatics - at least 5 ECTS with an average grade of at least 2.3

          3. Proof of English proficiency (at least B2 according to the European Framework of Reference for Languages)

    and further requirements depending on the duration of the study:

    3 Semester Master’s programme:

    • An undergraduate degree with at least 210 ECTS-Points
    • Relevant professional work experience (internship) before starting the degree programme (internships within the framework of an undergraduate degree shall be credited)

    The duration of the relevant practical work experience or an internship is at least 21 weeks or 30 ECTS credits.

    4 Semester Master’s programme:

    • An undergraduate degree with at least 180 ECTS-Points

     

    An admissions commission decides about the fulfilment of the qualified requirements.

    Information for foreign applicants: Incoming

     

    Application Deadlines

    The Enrolment Request (Antrag auf Einschreibung) for the winter semester 2022/23 must have been received by post by the 16 September 2022.

    Link to Online Application

    Deadlines for foreign applicants*: incoming

    You can probably apply for the summer semester from the beginning of November.

    Our Concept

    Our teaching concept for the Master's programme International Innovation Management is based on the basic principles as well as in-depth knowledge in the field of innovation management. It enables students to pursue a career in international organisations and academia (e.g. PhD).

    Structure: part-time study

    The structure of the Master's programme allows for part-time study. To ensure this, we use the following study formats in the first and second semesters:

    • Block attendance events on Fridays & Saturdays in Stralsund (usually 5 per semester),
    • Block classroom lectures from Monday to Friday in Stralsund or in Berlin, and internationally as part of the field trips (2 x semester),
    • Online lectures at fixed times from 15.45 h on weekdays,
    • Time and place-independent online lectures.
    • The Master's thesis is completed and defended in the third semester. Students with a first degree of 180 ECTS will do a 21-week internship in the third semester - which can also take place abroad - and write the Master's thesis in the fourth semester.

    Content I: Basic knowledge (Foundations)

    • Innovation Management
    • Basics and Methods of Futures Research
    • Innovation and the Law & Financing Innovations
    • Market Development Strategies & Customer Relationship Management
    • Innovation Project Practice

    Content II: Advanced Knowledge (Selected Topics)

    • Sustainable Innovations & Transformation in Mobility
    • Designing Digital Innovations
    • Data Science & Artificial Intelligence for Business Innovation

    Content III: Innovation Field Trips

    • National Field Trip (Berlin)
    • International Field Trip (various destinations)

    Note: Costs (travel, accommodation and stay costs) for the compulsory participation in the national and the international excursion are to be covered by the students. Depending on the destination of the excursion, approximate costs of Euro 500.00 (national excursion) to Euro 2,500.00 (international excursion) must be expected. Since transport and accommodation are booked independently by the students, these costs can be influenced by the students. The module INNOM1900 (excursions) is a compulsory subject; failure to pass (e.g. through non-participation) means that the required ECTS number for the degree is not achieved. Thus, according to the Fachprüfungsordnung (subject examination regulation) of 8 December 2021, the necessary educational contents for the successful completion are missing.

    Thesis

    In the last semester (3rd or 4th semester, depending on the first degree), students work on their Master's thesis. This is worth 30 ECTS points.

    Successful completion of the Master's programme in International Innovation Management would allow the student to apply for doctoral studies.

    Contact

    Leon Sievert

    Programmmanager

    Tel:

    +49 3831 45 6920

    Room:

    116, Haus 21

    General Student Advice Office

    Christina Wanke

    Studienberaterin

    Tel:

    +49 3831 45 6513

    Room:

    117, Haus 1

    Team

    Our core team of the Master's programme International Innovation Management.

     

    Perspectives

    Goals and Career Prospects

    Today more than ever, companies and organisations worldwide are under great pressure to change and innovate. "If you don't innovate, you evaporate".

    In order to initiate, accompany and implement these change processes, companies and organisations need employees with competence in agile methods and an understanding of which future developments will be relevant - from new mobility concepts, the effects of artificial intelligence or the demands of climate change on products, services and processes. The view beyond one's own nose must not stop at national borders - the competition is international.

    This is the typical field of activity for graduates of the Master's programme. As employees or external consultants, graduates will be equipped to identify urgently needed changes, initiate solutions and help implement them. In a world with an increasing speed of change, you will not run out of projects, on the contrary.

    Example job profiles are listed below.

    Graduates Profile

    Innovations of all kinds are essential drivers of the global economy. Thus, an economics-oriented degree programme which focuses on innovation management in an international context offers numerous fields of activity for future graduates. The interdisciplinary approach opens the door to  a wide variety of professions.

    Potential fields of activity for graduates of the International Innovation Management degree programme include:

    • Product/Service Manager
    • Business Development Manager
    • Digital Transformation Manager
    • Innovation/Technology Manager
    • Start-up/Existence Founder
    • In-house Consultant
    • External Start-up consultant
    • Consultant for public and semi-public institutions (Ministries, international organisations)
    • Positions in science and research (universities, research institutions)
    Programme Structure

    Curricula

    We offer you the Master's programme "International Innovation Management" in two variants, differing in length. Depending on the scope of previous academic study, the accredited master's degree can be obtained in three or four semesters:

    • 3-semester master's programme (undergraduate degree: 210 ECTS)
    • 4-semester master's programme (undergraduate degree: 180 ECTS)

    3-Semester Master's Programme

    4-Semester Master's Programme

    The allocated ECTS (European Credit Transfer System) points mirror the workload for the respective module (1 ECTS point is equivalent to 30 hours of work). ECTS make it possible to compare and recognise study achievements, for example if you want to transfer to another university.

    The teaching hours per week (SWS) represent the weekly teaching hours of one course.
    1 unit = 2 SWS = 90 minutes.

    What Kind of Study Type Are You?

    Apart from having the opportunity to study the master’s programme International Innovation Management as a full-time degree, the programme can also be completed as part of a dual degree program with in-depth practice, or part-time. This way studying can be tailored flexibly to meet your personal demands for your family or job.

    Programme Organisation

    Contact

    Leon Sievert

    Programmmanager

    Tel:

    +49 3831 45 6920

    Room:

    116, Haus 21

    Students Support Centre

    Anne-Cathleen Klein

    Sachbearbeiterin Studienbüro

    Tel:

    +49 3831 45 6637

    Room:

    123, Haus 1

    Highlights

    Highlights

    Innovations are created in the triad of "PEOPLE, PLACE and PROCESS". Here is an example of how we put this into practice in the International Innovation Management programme:

    Place: Innnovation Field Trips

    An integral and compulsory part of our curriculum is the participation in one national and one international excursion (Innovation Field Trip), which takes us to locations which are known for their innovation ecosystem. For our first study cohort, we are planning the following Innovation Field Trips (subject to possible travel restrictions):

    • National Innovation Field Trip: Berlin, 3-day, in May 2023 (tbc).
    • International Innovation Field Trip: Slicon Valley / SF Bay Area, 7 days, in February/March 2023 (tbc)

    Process: Management Innovation Lab

    Innovation management is strongly influenced by agile methods. To learn about these methods, the Faculty of Business is setting up the "Management Innovation Lab" as a place for learning and exchange. The Management Innovation Lab (abbreviated: MIL) allows you to try out different facilitation methods - physically or digitally. The MIL is expected to be available for the first time in the winter semester 2022/23.

    People: Our partners

    The planning, implementation and further development of the study programme is carried out in cooperation with the Institute for Futures Studies and Technology Assessment (IZT), Berlin. The IZT is a non-profit research institution which provides inter- and transdisciplinary futurology, sustainability design and technology assessment. Early identification of opportunities and risks. Implementation orientation. Participation and stakeholder integration.

International Innovation Management

Master-Studiengang (berufsbegleitend möglich) ab WS 2022/23

„International Innovation Management“ (INNO) ist ein englischsprachiger Managementstudiengang der Hochschule Stralsund. Er richtet sich an Bachelorabsolvent*Innen, die nach Abschluss dieses Masterstudiengangs Innovationen im Produkt-, Service- und Prozessbereich internationaler Organisationen anstoßen, umsetzen und bewerten wollen.

Inhaltlich werden die Grundlagen des Innovationsmanagements und aktuelle Themen wie zum Beispiel Consumer Insights & Communication, Digital Innovation, Data Science & AI for Business Innovation sowie Sustainable Innovation vermittelt. Die Vorlesungen und Seminare werden durch Innovation Field Trips praxisnah ergänzt.

Durch die zeitliche Konzentration der Präsenzphasen in Berlin und Stralsund sowie einen hohen Onlineanteil kann der Studiengang - je nach Bachelorabschluss - in drei oder vier Semestern berufsbegleitend absolviert werden.

Die Planung, Durchführung und Weiterentwicklung des Studiengangs erfolgt in Kooperation mit dem Institut für Zukunftsstudien und Technologiebewertung, Berlin, einem international anerkannten Think Tank der Zukunftsforschung.

Der Studienstart erfolgt im WS 2022/23 (September 2022). Bewerbungen sind ab Ende April 2022 möglich.

Steckbrief

Überblick

Studiengang International Innovation Management (INNO)
Fakultät Fakultät für Wirtschaft
Studienbeginn Wintersemester
Zulassung NC-frei
Studiendauer 3 oder 4 Semester (abhängig vom Erst-Studium)
Creditpoints 90 - 120 ECTS
Abschluss Master of Arts (M.A.)
Vorlesungssprache Englisch

Voraussetzungen

Auch wenn Sie Ihr Abschlusszeugnis zum Bewerbungstermin noch nicht erhalten haben, können Sie sich mit einem aktuellen Leistungsnachweis und einer Bescheinigung über aktuell erreichte ECTS-Punkte, der vorläufigen Endnote und dem voraussichtlichen Abschlussdatum bewerben.

Allgemeine Voraussetzungen, die für eine Zulassung zum 3-semestrigen oder 4-semestrigen Master-Studiengang zwingend erfüllt sein müssen:

  1. Nachweis über einen ersten berufsqualifizierenden Abschluss in den Fachrichtungen Management, Wirtschaftswissenschaften, Wirtschaftsingenieurwissenschaften, Wirtschaftsinformatik oder einem in der Regel eng verwandten Studiengang mit einem Durchschnitt von mindestens 2,3
  2. sowie im Rahmen des ersten berufsqualifizierenden Abschlusses Nachweis von Kenntnissen auf folgenden Fachgebieten in folgendem Umfang (z.B. durch offizielle Modulbeschreibungen der Hochschule)

                • Management im Umfang von mindestens 20 ECTS-Punkten mit einer Durchschnittsnote von
                  wenigstens 2,3

                • Mathematik/Statistik im Umfang von mindestens 10 ECTS-Punkten mit einer Durchschnittsnote
                  von wenigstens 2,7

                • Business Computing/Informatik im Umfang von mindestens 5 ECTS-Punkten mit einer
                  Durchschnittsnote von wenigstens 2,3

     3. Nachweis von Englischkenntnissen (Level B2 nach Europäischem Referenzrahmen für Sprachen)

und weitere Voraussetzungen je nach Studiendauer:

3-semestriger Master-Studiengang

  • Abschluss des Erststudiums mit mindestens 210 ECTS-Punkten
  • einschlägige berufspraktische Tätigkeit (Praktikum) vor Aufnahme des Studiums. Eine einschlägige berufspraktische Tätigkeit oder ein einschlägiges praktisches Studiensemester im Rahmen eines Bachelor- oder Diplom-Studienganges werden angerechnet. Der Umfang der einschlägigen berufspraktischen Tätigkeit beträgt mindestens 21 Wochen oder 30 ECTS-Punkte.

4-semestriger Master-Studiengang

  • Abschluss des Erststudiums mit mindestens 180 ECTS-Punkten

Über das Vorliegen der fachlichen Voraussetzungen entscheidet eine Zulassungskommission.

Bewerbungstermine

Posteingang des Antrages auf Einschreibung zum Wintersemester 2022/23 bis zum 31.08.2022

Zur Online-Bewerbung

Fristen für alle Bewerber*innen mit ausländischen Zeugnissen: Incoming

Für das Sommersemester 2023 können Sie sich voraussichtlich ab Anfang November bewerben.

Kurzbeschreibung

Unser Lehrkonzept im Master-Studiengang International Innovation Management basiert auf der Vermittlung grundlegender als auch vertiefender Kenntnisse im Bereich des Innovationsmanagements. Es befähigt Studierende zu einer Karriere in internationalen Organisationen und der Wissenschaft (z.B. Promotion).

Struktur: berufsbegleitend studieren

Die Struktur des Masterstudiengangs ermöglicht ein berufsbegleitendes Studium. Um dies sicherzustellen, nutzen wir im ersten und zweiten Studiensemester die folgenden Studienformate:

  • Verblockte Präsenzveranstaltungen am Freitag & Samstag in Stralsund (i.d.R. 5 x Semester),
  • Verblockte Präsenzveranstaltungen Montag bis Freitag in Stralsund bzw. in Berlin und international im Rahmen der Field Trips (2 x Semester),
  • Ortsunabhängige Online-Vorlesungen zu festgelegten Zeiten ab 15.45 h wochentags,
  • Zeit- und ortsunabhängige Online-Vorlesungen.

Im dritten Studiensemester wird die Master Thesis bearbeitet und verteidigt. Studierende mit einem Erststudium im Umfang von 180 ECTS absolvieren im dritten Studiensemester ein 21-wöchiges Praktikum - welches auch im Ausland absolviert werden kann - und erstellen die Master Thesis im vierten Studiensemester.

Inhalt I: Grundlegende Kenntnisse (Foundations)

  • Innovation Management
  • Basics and Methods of Future Research
  • Innovation and the Law & Financing Innovations
  • Market Development Strategies & Customer Relationship Management
  • Innovation Project Practice

Inhalt II: Vertiefende Kenntnisse (Selected Topics)

  • Sustainable Innovations & Transformation in Mobility
  • Designing Digital Innovations
  • Data Science & AI for Business Innovations

Inhalt III: Innovation Field Trips

  • National Field Trip (Berlin)
  • International Field Trip (Verschiedene Ziele)

Hinweis: Kosten (Reise-, Übernachtungs- und Aufenthaltskosten) für die verpflichtende Teilnahme an der nationalen und der internationalen Exkursion sind von den Studierenden zu tragen. Je nach Ziel der Exkursion müssen mit ungefähren Kosten von Euro 500,00 (nationale Exkursion) bis Euro 2.500,00 (internationale Exkursion) gerechnet werden. Da Transport und Übernachtung von den Studierenden selbstständig gebucht wird, sind diese Kosten von den Studierenden beeinflussbar. Das Modul INNOM1900 (Exkursionen) ist ein Pflichtfach; das Nichtbestehen (z.B. durch Nichtteilnahme) führt dazu, dass die benötige ECTS Zahl für den Abschluss nicht erreicht wird. Somit fehlen entsprechend der Fachprüfungsordnung vom 08. Dezember 2021 notwendige Ausbildungsinhalte für den erfolgreichen Abschluss.

Thesis

Im jeweils letzten Studiensemester (3. oder 4. Semester, in Abhängigkeit des Erststudiums), erarbeiten die Studierenden ihre Master Thesis. Diese hat einen Umfang von 30 ECTS Punkten.

Der erfolgreiche Abschluss im Master Studiengang International Innovation Management berechtigt zu einer Promotion.

Kontakt

Leon Sievert

Programmmanager

Tel:

+49 3831 45 6920

Raum:

116, Haus 21

Allgemeine Studienberatung

Christina Wanke

Studienberaterin

Tel:

+49 3831 45 6513

Raum:

117, Haus 1

Team

Unser Kernteam des Master-Studienganges International Innovation Management. 

Perspektiven

Ziele und Berufsaussichten

 

Unternehmen und Organisationen weltweit stehen heute mehr denn je unter einem hohen Veränderungs- und Innovationsdruck. Wer sich nicht bewegt, verliert.

Um diese Changeprozesse anzustoßen, zu begleiten und umzusetzen, benötigen Unternehmen und Organisationen MitarbeiterInnen mit Kompetenz in agilen Methoden und einem Verständnis, welche Zukunftsentwicklungen relevant sein werden - von neuen Mobilitätskonzepten, den Auswirkungen künstlicher Intelligenz oder den Anforderungen des Klimawandels an Produkte, Dienstleistungen und Prozesse. Dabei darf der Blick über den eigenen Tellerrand nicht an Landesgrenzen halt machen - der Wettbewerb ist international.

Dies ist das typische Aufgabenfeld der AbsolventInnen des Masterstudiengangs. Sie identifizieren als Angestellter oder externer Berater die dringend notwendigen Veränderungen, stoßen Lösungen an und helfen dabei diese umzusetzen. In einer Welt mit zunehmender Veränderungsgeschwindigkeit werden Ihnen die Aufgaben dabei nicht ausgehen, im Gegenteil.

Beispielhafte Berufsbilder, die aus dieser Aufgabenstellung abgeleitet werden, sind nachstehend aufgeführt.

Berufsbilder

 

Innovationen jeglicher Art sind wesentliche Treiber der Weltwirtschaft. Deshalb bietet ein wirtschaftswissenschaftlich orientierter Studiengang, der sich auf das Innovationsmanagement im internationalen Kontext fokussiert, zahlreiche Tätigkeitsfelder. Durch den interdisziplinären Ansatz wird das Arbeiten in den unterschiedlichsten Berufsfeldern ermöglicht.

Zu den potenziellen Tätigkeitsfeldern von Absolventinnen und Absolventen des Studiengangs „International Innovation Management“ zählen u.a.:

  • Produkt-/Service Manager*in
  • Business Development Manager*in
  • Digital Transformation Manager*in
  • Innovation-/Technologiemanager*in
  • Start-up/Existenzgründer*in
  • Inhouse Consultant
  • Externe Start-up Berater*in
  • Referent*innen in öffentlichen und halböffentlichen Einrichtungen (Ministerien, Internationale Organisationen)
  • Positionen in Wissenschaft und Forschung (Hochschulen, Forschungseinrichtungen)
Studienaufbau

Curricula

Unseren Master-Studiengang International Innovation Management bieten wir Ihnen in zwei unterschiedlichen Varianten an, die sich jeweils in der zeitlichen Dauer unterscheiden. Je nach Ihrem Erst-Studium kann der Abschluss in 3 oder 4 Semestern erreicht werden:

  • 3-semestriges Master-Studium (Erst-Studium: 210 ECTS-Punkte)
  • 4-semestriges Master-Studium (Erst-Studium: 180 ECTS-Punkte)

3-semestriges Master-Studium

4-semestriges Master-Studium

ECTS & Semester-Wochenstunden

Die zugeordneten ECTS-Punkte (European Credit Transfer System) spiegeln den Arbeitsaufwand für das jeweilige Modul wieder (1 ECTS-Punkt entspricht 30 Arbeitsstunden). ETCS dienen der Vergleichbarkeit und Anerkennung von Studienleistungen, etwa bei einem Wechsel des Studienortes.

Die Semester-Wochenstunden (SWS) bezeichnen die wöchentliche Präsenzdauer einer Lehrveranstaltung. Dabei sprechen wir von 1 Einheit = 2 SWS = 90 Zeitminuten. 


Welcher Studientyp sind Sie?

Neben der Möglichkeit den Master-Studiengang International Innovation Management in Vollzeit zu studieren, kann der Studiengang alternativ auch als Studienform mit vertiefter Praxis oder als Teilzeitstudium studiert werden. Damit lässt sich das Studium flexibel auf die persönlichen Bedürfnisse für Familie und Beruf zuschneiden.


Studienorganisation

Kontakt

Leon Sievert

Programmmanager

Tel:

+49 3831 45 6920

Raum:

116, Haus 21

Studienbüro 4

Anne-Cathleen Klein

Sachbearbeiterin Studienbüro

Tel:

+49 3831 45 6637

Raum:

123, Haus 1

Highlights

Highlights

Innovationen entstehen im Dreiklang von "PEOPLE, PLACE and PROCESS". Wie wir das im Studiengang International Innovation Management umsetzen, zeigen wir beispielhaft hier:

 

Place: Innnovation Field Trips

Integraler und verpflichtender Bestandteil unseres Curriculums ist die Teilnahme an einer nationalen und einer internationalen Exkurison (Innovation Field Trip), welche uns an Orte führt, die für ihr Innovations-Ökosystem bekannt sind. Für unsere erste Studienkohorte planen wir folgende Innovation Field Trips (vorbehaltlich möglicher Reiseinschränkungen):

  • National Innovation Field Trip: Berlin, 3-tägig, im Mai 2023 (tbc)
  • International Innovation Field Trip: Silicon Valley / SF Bay Area, 7-tägig, im Februar/März 2023 (tbc)

 

Process: Management Innovation Lab

Innovationsmanagement ist stark von agilen Methoden geprägt. Zum Kennenlernen dieser Methoden richtet die Fakultät für Wirtschaft das "Management Innovation Lab" als Ort des Lernens und Austausches ein. Das Management Innovation Lab (kurz: MIL) erlaubt das Ausprobieren verschiedener Facilitation Methods - und zwar physisch oder digital. Das MIL steht voraussichtlich zum WS 2022/23 erstmals zur Verfügung.

 

People: Praxispartner

Die Planung, Durchführung und Weiterentwicklung des Studiengangs erfolgt in Kooperation mit dem Institut für Zukunftsstudien und Technologiebewertung, Berlin. Das IZT ist eine gemeinnützige Forschungseinrichtung und steht für inter- und transdisziplinäre Zukunftsforschung, Nachhaltigkeitsgestaltung und Technologiefolgenabschätzung. Früherkennung von Chancen und Risiken.
Umsetzungsorientierung. Partizipation und Stakeholderintegration.

     

    Diese Studiengänge könnten Sie auch interessieren: